Arty things

I know I shouldn’t do it, but I can’t help blowing my own trumpet this morning* (having woken again to the sound of the 5am cockerel).

But first, Friday’s little adventure. I had to deliver some work to Lowes Court in Egremont for their summer exhibition, and while I was down there I visited Florence Mine to see the Paintmakers. The old iron ore mine is no longer in production but you can tell you are getting close by the red tracks on the road, which get redder the nearer you are. This is the red that is now going into the paints and other art materials being produced by a small group of artists. I had a lovely chat with two members of the group – their quiet excitement and enthusiasm was catching. So soon I will be doing some drawings in Egremont Red, St Bees Yellow and Kirkby Grey. After that I also ran into an unexpected friend at Lowes Court and a stimulating chat – it is good to get out of the house sometimes!

Yesterday I went to Kendal to the launch of Open Up North, driving down through the Lakes (Thirlmere, Grasmere, Windermere, all dazzling in the sun). After the speeches and the prize giving, we toured the exhibition, which is spread over three venues, including the oldest building in Kendal – a beautiful maze of old stone and dark wood. Here’s a glimpse of one of the upstairs rooms.

Photo1567

 

The exhibition includes over a hundred very varied works, mainly paintings and prints, but also photography and a few 3D pieces.

When we found my painting in the Warehouse Cafe at the Brewery Arts Centre, it had a Judges’ Commendation! (Cock-a-doodle-doo!) I was absurdly pleased by this pat on the back. I may be too old to count as an ’emerging artist’ but I was nearly as chuffed as a six-year-old getting a gold star from miss. Here is the painting with its ‘accolade’:

Photo1566

 

There – trumpet blown – I’ll stop now. 🙂

 

*I’ve put in lots of links to other things to prove I’m not totally self-absorbed.

2 thoughts on “Arty things

Leave a Reply

