Evocation – a draft of memory

Springsteen sings of The Wall

In memory of a country’s losses

And of his young heroes

But for me an image returns

Of my father, walking there

Half a lifetime ago,

Beside the mirroring stone

With its fringe of offerings,

remembrances.

What was he thinking?

A foreigner who had seen a different war.

I was too much a (twenty-something) child to ask.

Last offspring of aging parents,

How much I failed to ask,

Failed to imagine soon enough

That they were more than that,

More than the walls and windows of my home.

(It is so long ago

I did not know there were still tears to shed.)

Leave a Reply

